What's new
Advertise Your Business Here

Tell us your ham radio beginning here!

Shawn Gossman

Skywarn Forum Owner
Staff member
Thread starter #1
Howdy,

What got you into ham radio? Where and when did the passion start and how far did it advance all the way until today?

Shawn Gossman

Skywarn Forum Owner
Staff member
Thread starter #3
I got into ham radio because being out Storm spotting cell service sucks at times so ham gets me into nws . I am now a general class operator.
I can attest to your response. In May of 2009, a powerful derecho hit my local area causing multiple-week power outages. It was really the ARES folks that kept communications going for several days. My hat is off to you guys :)

A Jeep friend and I were talking and I expressed by discontent with CBs and how most others I Jeep with have poorly installed CB setups and can barely talk a half mile. He informed me that there was something better and I have fully embraced it. I have also surrounded myself with more off roaders who are hams and generally go on adventures with them instead. The local radio club I associate with does activate for severe weather and since I have always been fascinated by weather it seemed only fitting to get involved with Skywarn as well.

Shawn Gossman

Skywarn Forum Owner
Staff member
Thread starter #6
A Jeep friend and I were talking and I expressed by discontent with CBs and how most others I Jeep with have poorly installed CB setups and can barely talk a half mile. He informed me that there was something better and I have fully embraced it. I have also surrounded myself with more off roaders who are hams and generally go on adventures with them instead. The local radio club I associate with does activate for severe weather and since I have always been fascinated by weather it seemed only fitting to get involved with Skywarn as well.